2010 National Championships

CONTROL – Club of Champions!!!


CONTROL finished the year as the TOP Speech and Debate Team in the Country!!!


We acknowledge that the goals of CONTROL Speech and Debate far exceed what happens at individual tournaments. That said, we participate in a competitive sport and it is biblical to recognize excellence.


In a testimony to God’s grace, and to all of our wonderful parents and students, CONTROL has become the MOST SUCCESSFUL CLUB in the history of Christian Homeschool Forensics!!!


CONTROL won four National Championships in Speech and the National Championship in Team Policy Debate at the National Invitational Tournament of Champions. This gives CONTROL an unprecedented 10 National Championships in Speech and its first National Championship in Debate. No other club has ever been so blessed.

Jeriel Burke and Stephen Roe bested the best in the nation to take the Team Policy Debate National Championship!

CONTROL Team Policy Debate finished with four teams in the top 26 in the Nation! (See TP results below.)

Stephen Roe also won the National Championship in Open Interpretation!

Caleb Taylor won two National Championships. He won the largest event in the tournament, beating out 115 other competitors to win the title in Impromptu speaking!

Giovanna Cabrera teamed with Caleb to win the National Championship in Duo Interpretation!

Audrea Taylor, not to be outdone by her big brother, won the National Championship in Original Oratory!

In addition to the five National Championships, the CONTROL team had many great finishes in many events demonstrating the club’s breadth and depth. CONTROL took home the trophy for the top Speech and Debate Team at the tournament.

Stephen Roe finished as the Speech Sweepstakes Champion with Caleb Taylor finishing second, just a few points behind!

Stephen finished number one as Tournament Champion and Caleb finished in third for Tournament Champion!

The tournament results are detailed below:



Jeriel Burke                    Quarterfinalist

Stephen Kazules            Quarterfinalist

Abigail Roe

Stephen Roe                   4th Place

Laine Savidge

Claire Schalin

Caleb Taylor                   Quarterfinalist

Camille Weisman            7th Place

Frank Wyer



Dramatic Interpretation

Giovanna Cabrera             2nd Place


Duo Interpretation            CONTROL finished 1st, 2nd, and 3rd!!!

Jarah Burke – Stephen Roe                   2nd Place

Giovanna Cabrera – Caleb Taylor         1st Place

Aaron Krive – Camille Weisman            3rd Place



David Hutchinson            Semifinalist


Humorous Interpretation

Giovanna Cabrera            4th Place

Stephen Roe                     2nd Place

Caleb Taylor                     Semifinalist


Angela Asgekar

Evan Buck

Jeriel Burke                   Quarterfinalist

David Hutchinson

GraceMarie Lambert

Joshua Meihaus             Quarterfinalist

Abigail Roe                   Quarterfinalist

Stephen Roe                  3rd Place

Claire Schalin                 Semifinalist

Audrea Taylor

Caleb Taylor                  1st Place


Open Interpretation

Giovanna Cabrera         Semifinalist

Stephen Roe                  1st Place

Caleb Taylor                  3rd Place



Original Oratory


GraceMarie Lambert       Semifinalist

Laine Savidge

Audrea Taylor                 1st Place

Caleb Taylor



Stephen Kazules              4th Place

Audrea Taylor                  Semifinalist

Caleb Taylor                     2nd Place



Lincoln Douglas Debate

Angela Asgekar               15th Place

Laine Savidge

Camille Weisman



Team Policy Debate

Jarah Burke                      30th Speaker              26th Place Team

Frank Wyer                       27th Speaker


Jeriel Burke                                                        1st Place Team

Stephen Roe                      24th Speaker


Aiden Gilmore

Joshua Meihaus


David Hutchinson                                                13th Place Team

Claire Schalin


Erin McConlogue                28th Speaker               6th Place Team

Meaghan McConlogue           



Marathoners – Qualifying Five or More Speeches to NITOC

Aaron Krive (5 Events, also competing for Frontline)

Caleb Taylor (7 Events)


IronMen – Qualifying Five or More Speeches and Debate to NITOC

Stephen Roe (5 Events plus Team Policy Debate)


Picket Fence Award Winners

Giovanna Cabrera (4 in Prelims)

Stephen Roe (1 in Prelims, 1 in Quarters, and 1 in Semis)

Caleb Taylor (5 in Prelims)


Speech Sweepstakes

20th Camille Weisman

6th   Giovanna Cabrera

4th   Aaron Krive

2nd  Caleb Taylor

1st   Stephen Roe


Tournament Champions

3rd  Caleb Taylor

1st   Stephen Roe


Club Championships

Speech - CONTROL

Combined Speech and Debate - CONTROL

Congratulations to all of our CONTROL students and their families. We believe God will use the skills you have learned and practiced this year to advance His Kingdom!!!